Skip to main content

Search the Special Collections and Archives Portal

Search Results

Display    Results Per Page
Displaying results 84331 - 84340 of 87041

Film transparency of a ghost town, Delamar, Nevada, 1956

Date

1956

Description

A view of some of the abandonded buildings in Delamar, Nevada, taken from a nearby hill. Delamar, Nevada, nicknamed The Widowmaker, is a ghost town in central eastern Nevada, USA along the east side of the Delamar Valley. During its heyday, primarily between 1895 and 1900, it produced $13.5 million in gold. In 1889, prospectors John Ferguson and Joseph Sharp discovered gold around Monkeywrench Wash. A mining camp was then born west of the Monkeywrench Mine. It was called Ferguson. In April 1894, Captain Joseph Raphael De Lamar bought most of the important mines in the area and renamed the Ferguson camp as Delamar. In the same year, a newspaper called the Delamar Lode began publication and a post office was opened. Soon, the new settlement boasted more than 1,500 residents, a hospital, an opera house, churches, a school, several businesses and saloons. Most buildings were made of native rock. By 1896, the Delamar mill was handling up to 260 tons of ore daily. Water for the camp was pumped from a well in Meadow Valley Wash, some twelve miles away. Supplies and materials traveled even further, by mule team over mountainous terrain from the railroad head at Milford, Utah, which was 150 miles from Delamar. Silicosis The gold in the Delamar mines was embedded in quartzite which when crushed created a fine dust. Miners breathing the dust often developed silicosis and the town became known as a "widow-maker." Many ruins now stand semi-intact in the Delamar ghost town region. Foundations can easily be seen from adjacent hills. There are two graveyards, which have been vandalized. The area is honeycombed with mines and mineshafts, but in recent years the main shaft has been blasted closed. Wild horses roam the area. The nearby dry lake is known to pilots as Texas Lake because its outline resembles the state of Texas.

Image

Film transparency of a ghost town, Delamar, Nevada, 1956

Date

1956

Description

Some of the abandonded buildings in Delamar, Nevada. A tailing pile from one of the mines is visible in the center of the photograph. A stone structure is visible on the right side of the photograph. Delamar, Nevada, nicknamed The Widowmaker, is a ghost town in central eastern Nevada, USA along the east side of the Delamar Valley. During its heyday, primarily between 1895 and 1900, it produced $13.5 million in gold. In 1889, prospectors John Ferguson and Joseph Sharp discovered gold around Monkeywrench Wash. A mining camp was then born west of the Monkeywrench Mine. It was called Ferguson. In April 1894, Captain Joseph Raphael De Lamar bought most of the important mines in the area and renamed the Ferguson camp as Delamar. In the same year, a newspaper called the Delamar Lode began publication and a post office was opened. Soon, the new settlement boasted more than 1,500 residents, a hospital, an opera house, churches, a school, several businesses and saloons. Most buildings were made of native rock. By 1896, the Delamar mill was handling up to 260 tons of ore daily. Water for the camp was pumped from a well in Meadow Valley Wash, some twelve miles away. Supplies and materials traveled even further, by mule team over mountainous terrain from the railroad head at Milford, Utah, which was 150 miles from Delamar. Silicosis The gold in the Delamar mines was embedded in quartzite which when crushed created a fine dust. Miners breathing the dust often developed silicosis and the town became known as a "widow-maker." Many ruins now stand semi-intact in the Delamar ghost town region. Foundations can easily be seen from adjacent hills. There are two graveyards, which have been vandalized. The area is honeycombed with mines and mineshafts, but in recent years the main shaft has been blasted closed. Wild horses roam the area. The nearby dry lake is known to pilots as Texas Lake because its outline resembles the state of Texas.

Image

Interview with Raymond Chester Harbert, July 14, 2005

Date

2005-07-14

Description

Narrator affiliation: Resident Engineer, Holmes and Narver; Program Manager, Plowshare

Text

Interview with Lawrence Frerric Krenzien, September 8, 2005

Date

2005-09-08

Description

Narrator affiliation: Resident Test Director, Los Alamos National Laboratory

Text

Keith Boman Papers on the Smith Center for the Performing Arts

Identifier

MS-00951

Abstract

The Keith Boman Papers on the Smith Center for the Performing Arts consist of materials documenting the construction of the Smith Center for the Performing Arts in Las Vegas, Nevada from approximately 2009 to 2010. The collection includes documents from the construction oversight committee, financial budgets, and board of directors meeting agendas.

Archival Collection

Postcard of a barge, Lake Mead, circa 1935-1950

Date

1935 to 1950

Archival Collection

Description

Picture of the first load of gold ore to be transported on Boulder Lake by barge.

Image

Photograph of the exterior of the Lake Mead Lodge, Nevada, circa 1940s to 1950s

Date

1940 to 1959

Description

A black and white side view of the front exterior of the Lake Mead Lodge.

Image

Film transparency of an architectural drawing, Nevada, circa 1930s-1940s

Date

1930 to 1949

Archival Collection

Description

A close up architectural sketch of the Boulder Dam Visitors Bureau.

Image

Film transparency of Lake Mead National Recreation Area administrative building, circa 1940s-1950s

Date

1940 to 1959

Archival Collection

Description

An image of the Lake Mead National Recreation Area administrative building.

Image