Skip to main content

Search the Special Collections and Archives Portal

Meeting minutes for Consolidated Student Senate, University of Nevada, Las Vegas, October 18, 1977






Agenda and meeting minutes for the University of Nevada, Las Vegas Student Senate. CSUN Session 6 Meeting Minutes and Agendas.

Digital ID



uac000153. Consolidated Students of the University of Nevada, Las Vegas Records, 1965-2019. UA-00029. Special Collections and Archives, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.


This material is made available to facilitate private study, scholarship, or research. It may be protected by copyright, trademark, privacy, publicity rights, or other interests not owned by UNLV. Users are responsible for determining whether permissions are necessary from rights owners for any intended use and for obtaining all required permissions. Acknowledgement of the UNLV University Libraries is requested. For more information, please see the UNLV Special Collections policies on reproduction and use ( or contact us at

Standardized Rights Statement

Digital Provenance

Digitized materials: physical originals can be viewed in Special Collections and Archives reading room

Digital Processing Note

OCR transcription


1662 x 1275 pixels
11 x 8.5 inches





SENATE MEETING #15 October 18, 1977 I. Call to Order The fifteenth meeting of the Consolidated Student Senate was called to order by Chairman Ken Holt at 4:08 p.m. in Lounge 202 of the Student Union. II. Roll Call Roll was taken by the CSUN Secretary. Members present: No members were absent. Rob Nielsen Elaine Mendonca Bob Biale DeAnn Turpen John Duncan Ingrid Hegedus Scott Hoover Gretchen Smith Bobby Lawson Jerry Gatch Dave Bergen Bruce Bayne Chuck White Richard Simms Cindy Kiser Peggy Burnham Iris McCowan Greg McKinley Judy Sawyer Gene Russo Marshal Willick Mike Verchick Joe Matvay III. Approval of Minutes Motion to table #12 until there are completed by Gene Russo, Seconded by Ingrid Hegedus. Motion passes. Vote to approve minutes #14 passes unanimously. IV. Presidential Announcements A. Presidential Host Fund Scott Lorenz presented his views of the host fund, along with an estimation of his expenditures through 9-30-77. An extensive discussion was held, but no action was taken at this time. B. Budget John Hunt, CSUN Treasurer presented the revised budget for CSUN. Jerry Gatch pointed out to the Senate that there were two errors of addition on the revised budget. John stated that they would be corrected for the next meeting. C. Day Care Center Ken announced that due to conflicts, it was necessary to release the Assistant Director of the Day Care Center. He added that it would be advertised in the newspapers and filled as soon as possible. V. Open Discussion Open discussion was held for approximately 15 minutes. VI. Committee Reports A. Activities Board No report. B. Union Board Gene Russo announced that the Board of Regent's approved the $150,000 expenditure for the snack bar renovation. The project could be completed by early spring. C. Constitution Revision Committee Report was by-passed at this time. D. By-Law Committee Report was by-passed at this time. E. Radio Station Scott Lorenz stated the problems the board was having in obtaining a competent individual for the station manager position. It seems that the top two candidates would not accept the terms as offered. An investigation is being held to determine the next step to take in obtaining this individual. In the interim, Larry Shipp has been hired to fill this position for two to three months as a consultant. Dr. Cassese suggested that in the future applicants for this position pay for their trip to Las Vegas for the interview, which may be reim-bursed contingent upon them being hired. Mike Verchick made a motion for a ten minute recess. Seconded by Gene Russo. Motion passes. Meeting was called back to order at 5:16 p.m. VII. Old Business A. Organizations Council Operating Policy Discussion was held. Greg McKinley moved to table this policy until the budget is reworked due to decrease in Matching Funds. Seconded by Marshal Willick. Motion passed with one opposed and one abstention. B. Recognized Organizations Scott Hoover moved to table this until the next meeting, seconded by Ingrid Hegedus. Motion passes to table with two abstentions. VIII. New Business A. Presidential Nominations Scott nominated the following people to be voted on at the next meeting. 1. Organizations Council Peggy Burnham, Russ Foreman, Dave Cox, Maria DeLuca, Shirley Willstead, Cathy Savarese. 2. Curriculum Board Elaine Hurdico, Joe Matvay. 3. Judicial Board a. Steve Compan, Chief Justice b. James Rosenberger, Associate Justice 4. Code Committee Bob Biale 5. Financial Aid Committee Scott Hoover, Bobby Lawson, Elaine Mendonca. 6. Library Committee Richard Simms B. Presidential Host Fund (DeAnn Turpen and Ingrid Hegedus excused). Marshal Willick moved that a sealing be set for the remainder of the year of $1,000 for the presidential host fund. Seconded by Chuck White. Discussion. Gene Russo called for the question. Motion to vote immediately passes. Main motion fails with only three in favor. Gene Russo moved to grant a sealing of $1,800 to the fund. Seconded by Greg McKinley. Discussion. Bruce Bayne moved to table until the next meeting. Seconded by Bob Biale. Motion passes. C. Matching Funds Marshal Willick made a motion that a case by case determination of matching funds be made, and that if possible, the funds be paid back to CSUN. Seconded by Dave Bergen. Chair asked Mr. Willick if he had talked to John Hunt as to possibility of working this into the operating policy. Discussion was held. Mr. Willick withdrew his motion. IX. Adjournment Rob Nielsen moved to adjourn, seconded by Greg McKinley. Motion passes, meeting adjourned at 5:36 p.m.