Skip to main content

Search the Special Collections and Archives Portal

Search Results

Display    Results Per Page
Displaying results 69331 - 69340 of 69988

University of Nevada, Las Vegas School of Medicine Press Clippings and Publicity Collection

Identifier

UA-00066

Abstract

The University of Nevada, Las Vegas School of Medicine Press Clippings and Publicity Collection is comprised primarily of newspaper clippings and magazine articles from 2013 to 2015 covering the development of a medical school at UNLV. The collection materials include op-eds on UNLV's School of Medicine and articles discussing funding, development, and administration for the school. This collection also includes a copy of the Nevada Kids Count data book from 2011 which disseminates research on demographics, health factors, economics, education, safety, and welfare for the juvenile population in Nevada.

Archival Collection

Marisa Rodriguez oral history interview

Identifier

OH-03732

Abstract

Oral history interview with Marisa Rodriguez conducted by Maribel Estrada Calderón, Monserrath Hernández and Claytee D. White for the Latinx Voices of Southern Nevada Oral History Project.

Marisa Rodriguez discusses her childhood and living in North Las Vegas as a teenager; she was born in Chicago, Illinois, moved to Mexico with her family at a young age, and returned to the United States at age 12. She recounts what it was like acclimating to American life, learning English, and studying abroad in Spain before becoming a law student. Marisa attended the William S. Boyd School of Law and is currently a civil litigator in Las Vegas.

Subjects discussed include: La Voz Hispanic/Latino Law Students Association at the William S. Boyd School of Law; Huellas mentorship program.

Archival Collection

Union Plaza Photograph Collection

Identifier

PH-00316

Abstract

The Union Plaza Photograph Collection, approximately 1970 to 1971, consists of photographic prints and negatives taken during the construction of the Union Plaza Hotel and Casino in downtown Las Vegas, Nevada. Images portray the construction process, the surrounding area and businesses, and the completed project.

Archival Collection

Breck Wall Photograph Collection

Identifier

PH-00344

Abstract

The Breck Wall Photograph Collection, approximately 1960 to 1980, consists of black-and-white photographic prints depicting comedian and entertainer, Breck Wall, and other cast members of the comedy revue, “Bottom’s Up!” in Las Vegas, Nevada. Images include scenes from sketches performed on the show, group shots of the cast members off-set, and portraits of Wall.

Archival Collection

Las Vegas PRIDE Parade Records

Identifier

MS-01072

Abstract

The Las Vegas PRIDE Parade Records (2016-2017) contain administrative files that document how the Southern Nevada Association of PRIDE, Inc. (SNAPI) organized the 2016 and 2017 PRIDE parades in Las Vegas, Nevada. Materials include correspondence with event organizers, parade participant information, and PRIDE event guides.

Archival Collection

University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV) 7th commencement program

Date

1970-06-11

Description

Commencement program from University of Nevada, Las Vegas Commencement Programs and Graduation Lists (UA-00115).

Text

Film transparency of the ruins of the H. D. and L. D. Porter Brothers Store, Rhyolite, Nevada, November 25, 1948

Date

1948-11-25

Description

An unidentified person looks at the ruins of the H. D. and L. D. Porter Brothers Store in Rhyolite, Nevada. The remains of two wooden buildings and several mining tailing piles are visible in the background. Originally from Illinois, the brothers opened their first store in Johannesburg, Ca. in 1902. Moving with the mining booms, they opened stores in Ballarat, Beatty, Pioneer and Rhyolite. From the Ballarat store, H. D. Porter loaded thirty tons of merchandise onto an 18-mule team freight wagon and came east across Death Valley to the Bullfrog District. The original store was built on Main St. After the move to Golden St., the wooden building was used as a furniture store for the Porter Brothers. With the purchase of a lot on Golden Ave. the construction of a new stone building began in July 1906 and was finished four months later. According to the Rhyolite Herald, November 1906 "This is a large substantial structure, practically fireproof, and occupies a prominent site on Golden Street. The main floor is 30 x 80 feet, with a basement and gallery." Nels Linn was the contractor who did the stonework. The estimated cost was $10,000 for the complete construction of the building. One of the signs that hung from the Porter Brothers Store was "All Things Good But Whiskey". With all the saloons already established in Rhyolite, the Porter Brothers maintained a reputation of never selling liquor. Rhyolite is a ghost town in Nye County, Nevada. It is in the Bullfrog Hills, about 120 miles (190 km) northwest of Las Vegas, near the eastern edge of Death Valley. The town began in early 1905 as one of several mining camps that sprang up after a prospecting discovery in the surrounding hills. During an ensuing gold rush, thousands of gold-seekers, developers, miners and service providers flocked to the Bullfrog Mining District. Many settled in Rhyolite, which lay in a sheltered desert basin near the region's biggest producer, the Montgomery Shoshone Mine. Rhyolite declined almost as rapidly as it rose. After the richest ore was exhausted, production fell. The 1906 San Francisco earthquake and the financial panic of 1907 made it more difficult to raise development capital. In 1908, investors in the Montgomery Shoshone Mine, concerned that it was overvalued, ordered an independent study. When the study's findings proved unfavorable, the company's stock value crashed, further restricting funding. By the end of 1910, the mine was operating at a loss, and it closed in 1911. By this time, many out-of-work miners had moved elsewhere, and Rhyolite's population dropped well below 1,000. By 1920, it was close to zero. After 1920, Rhyolite and its ruins became a tourist attraction and a setting for motion pictures. Most of its buildings crumbled, were salvaged for building materials, or were moved to nearby Beatty or other towns, although the railway depot and a house made chiefly of empty bottles were repaired and preserved. The town is named for rhyolite, an igneous rock composed of light-colored silicates, usually buff to pink and occasionally light gray. It belongs to the same rock class, felsic, as granite but is much less common.

Image

Meeting minutes for Consolidated Student Senate, University of Nevada, Las Vegas, June 30, 2008

Date

2008-06-30

Description

Includes meeting agenda, with additional information about CSUN Code of Conduct. CSUN Session 37 Meeting Minutes and Agendas .

Text