Skip to main content

Search the Special Collections and Archives Portal

Meeting minutes for Consolidated Student Senate, University of Nevada, Las Vegas, June 7, 1977






Agenda and meeting minutes for the University of Nevada, Las Vegas Student Senate. CSUN Session 6 Meeting Minutes and Agendas.

Digital ID



uac000141. Consolidated Students of the University of Nevada, Las Vegas Records, 1965-2019. UA-00029. Special Collections and Archives, University Libraries, University of Nevada, Las Vegas. Las Vegas, Nevada.


This material is made available to facilitate private study, scholarship, or research. It may be protected by copyright, trademark, privacy, publicity rights, or other interests not owned by UNLV. Users are responsible for determining whether permissions are necessary from rights owners for any intended use and for obtaining all required permissions. Acknowledgement of the UNLV University Libraries is requested. For more information, please see the UNLV Special Collections policies on reproduction and use ( or contact us at

Standardized Rights Statement

Digital Provenance

Digitized materials: physical originals can be viewed in Special Collections and Archives reading room

Digital Processing Note

OCR transcription


1650 x 1275 pixels
11 x 8.5 inches





SENATE MEETING #3 June 7, 1977 I. Call to Order Meeting was called to order by the chair at 4:08 p.m. in Lounge 203 of the Student Union. II. Roll Call Roll call was taken by the CSUN Secretary. Members present: Jeff Barta Bob Biale De Ann Turpen Bob Blaskey Ingrid Hegedus Scott Hoover Rich Cole Bobby Lawson Dave Cavalieri Iris McCowan Greg McKinley Warren Stief Keith Terry Gene Russo Marshal Willick Joe Warpinski Members excused: Cyndi Vannucci Mike Whipple Members Unexcused: Rob Nielsen Jim Bateman Jim Rafferty III. Approval of Minutes Greg McKinley noted that his absence at the May 9 meeting was marked unexcused; it should be marked excused. Motion to approve minutes of Meetings #31 and #32 as corrected by Keith Terry. Seconded by Dave Cavalieri. Motion passes. IV. Open Discussion Open discussion was held for 15 minutes. A. Executive Board Announcements Ken Holt announced that Colleen Newton had been appointed Acting Editor of the Yell Newspaper for the month of June in order for the expenditures to be cleared up. Ken also announce that due to lack of quorum, John Hunt and he had transferred $1,500 from contingency to general expense. Ken stated that an error had been made on the appointment letters; therefore, Tom Kellar should be stricken from the Activities Board list because he is not at this time a Senator, and Bill Benjamin should be stricken for the same reason. He added, however, that these two names could be resubmitted to this board if they were to become Senators by appointment of the Senate. V. Old Business A. Senate By-Law Committee A ballot was prepared for the appointment of Senators to this committee. Names on the ballot were: Greg McKinley, Gene Russo, Marshal Willick, Mike Whipple, Dave Cavalieri, Jim Rafferty. Four members are to be elected. There is a tie for the fourth person, chair casts his vote. Members of the Committee will be: Greg McKinley, Chairman Mike Whipple Gene Russo Marshal Willick VI. New Business A. Senatorial Nominations Bobby Lawson and Rich Cole nominate Tom Kellar for the vacancy in Arts and Letters. Seconded by Marshal Willick. Greg McKinley nominated Louis Sanchez to Business and Economics. Bob Biale nominated Jerry Gatch to Business and Economics. Gene Russo nominated Peggy Burnham to University College. Marshal Willick nominated Chuck White to Education. Chair declared nominations closed. Voting will be at the next meeting. B. Presidential Nominations Ken announced that voting on presidential nominations will be at the next meeting. Names are as submitted by letter from Scott Lorenz with the corrections noted earlier in the meeting. Activities: Union: Steve Francis, Chairman Gene Russo, Chairman Ferenc Szony Dan Wright Sandy Hackett Greg McKinley Danielle Oswald , 'si - r^J / 1 SL Radio Station: T.nrty Sh4?|f, Chairman Odell Hobbs >» John Hunt Scott Lorenz Bob Biale - Ingrid Hegedus Mike Stowers~ Larry Kokkeler — Burt Teh Mike Verchick Mike Whipple Bill Benjamin Appropriations: John Hunt, Chairman Jerry Gatch Michael Bonner Gary Wood~- Greg McKinley Marshal Wil'lick- Bobby Lawson Dave Keller^ Constitution: Ken Holt, Chairman Gene Russo Greg McKinley Peggy Burnham Frank Licari - Sharon Baker Marshal Willick Mike Whipple - Sam Iorio Clyde Dalton , C. Salary—Stipends Chair entertained a motion to let Senate and Executive stipends stand at the amounts they were for 1976-77. Presidential: $250 Vice-Presidential and Treasurer: $175, Senate: $15. So moved by Joe Warpinski, and seconded by Marshal Willick. Motion passes. D. Student Insurance Plan Report postponed until later date when the agent will be present at the meeting. E. Waiver of 15 hour rule Ken asked that the Vice-Presidential work limit be lifted for the summer to 40 hours. He added that this would be dropped down to a comparable rate for the school year. He suggested that the stipulation that his work not interfere with his office be added. So moved by Joe Warpinski, and seconded by Keith Terry. Discussion. Motion passed unanimously. F. Constitutional Revision Committee Marshal Willick moved that members of the Constitutional Revision Committee with the exception of the Chairman receive a stipend of $10 a month. Seconded by Keith Terry. Discussion. Call for the question by Joe Warpinski. Motion passed to vote immediately with two abstentions. Main motion passes with two abstentions. G. Life Members Joe Warpinski moved to reinstate the policy of recognizing lifetime memberships for Executive officers and major board chairpersons. Seconded by Marshal Willick. Discussion. Motion passes with one abstention. H. Senate Meetings Marshal Willick moved that Senate Meetings be changed to a weekly basis. Seconded by Ingrid Hegedus. Discussion. Rich Cole moved to table until the beginning of the Fall Semester. Seconded by Bob Biale. Motion to table passes with one opposed. I. Announcements Ken announced that Constitution Revision meetings are held at 12 on Wednesdays and at 10:30 a.m. on Saturdays. Most Saturday meetings will be held in our lounges upstairs. Bob Biale requested a list be drawn up of all Regular Senate Meetings for the summer. Ken agrees to do this and will distribute them to the Senators. The next Senate meeting will be in two weeks. Joe Warpinski moved to adjourn. Seconded by Dave Cavalieri. Meeting adjourned at 4:58 p.m.