## The LAS VEGAS SENTINEL-VOICE March 4, 1993 SBN SPORTS NETWORK HONORS 1992 BLACK COLLEGE ALL-AMERICAN TEAM



OFFENSE - (Standing I. to r.) Terry Mickens, Florida A&M; Eric Gant, Grambling; Dawin Wright, Mktg Mgr. Chevrolet Motor Div.; Gilad Landau, Grambling; Rod Clodfelder, Livingstone; Doug Grant, Savannah State.

(Sitting from I. to r.) Orlando Brown, South Carolina State; Kwame Kilpatrick, Florida A&M; Robert Carpenter, Howard St.; Lester Holmes, Jackson State; Herman Arvie, Grambling State; Isiah Bliss, Jackson State. (Not pictured: Steve McNair, Alcorn State).

Baltimore, Maryland--- Some of the greatest athlete's in Black college football history were honored during the SBN Sports Network (a division of American Urban Radio Networks (AURN)) Black College All-American Weekend, saluting 100 years of Black college football.

Legendary greats like Paul "Tank" Younger (Grambling), NFL Hall of Famers David "Deacon" Jones (South Carolina State), Art Shell (Maryland State), Willie Davis (Grambling), Mel Blount (Southern), Lem Barney (Jackson State), Larry Little(Bethune Cookman)

## **NEVADA "AAA" BOYS STATE BASKETBALL TOURNAMENT**

Lawlor Events Center, Reno Nevada "MARCH MADNESS UP NORTH"

Thursday March 4, 1993 Cimarron v.s. Reed \*Clark v.s Hug \*Gorman v.s. South Tahoe \*Cheyenne v.s. Reno Friday March 5, 1993 Semi-Finals \*Cim./Reed winner v.s. Chey./Reno winner \*Clark/Hug winner v.s. Gorm./So. Tah. winner Saturday March 6, 1993 State Finals \*TBA 6:00 p.m.

\* All these games can be heard "live" on 1460 AM Keno Radio with KENO Sports Director Seat Williams calling play-by-play of his 8th state championship. Color commentary will be handled by former Clark High basketball standout Eugene Bibbons.

and Walter Payton(Jackson State).

Other NFL All-Pro honorees included Doug Williams (Grambling), Rayfield Wright (Fort Valley State), Everson Walls (Grambling), Jerry Rice (Mississippi Valley State), L.C. Greenwood (Arkansas AM&N), John Stallworth (Alabama A&M), Harry Carson (South Carolina State), Charlie Joiner (Grambling) and Ernie Barnes (North Carolina Central).

A&T; Marlo Perry, Jackson State.

Elizabeth City State; Perry Hall, Tennessee State.

During the Friday night reception, "An Evening with the Champions," a salute was made to the 100th Year All-Time Team and special recognition was given to the National Football Foundation's Hall of famer A.S. "Jake" Gaither, who coached the Florida A&M Rattlers from 1945 through 1969. Gaither spent 36 years at FAMU, retiring in 1973. He was the only college football coach in history to receive college football's triple crown of awards in 1975.

The Grambling State Tigers and Eddie Robinson, the winningest coach in the history of college football, received the SBN/Jack Gaither National Championship Award presented by Athlete's Foot,



which included a \$5,000 scholarship awarded to the school.

OP

The weekend event was highlighted by a Saturday night banquet that introduced the 1992 Black College All-American Football Team, that recognized the offensive and defensive players of the year. Michael Strahan, defensive lineman for Texas Southern University, received the SBN Mel Blount Defensive Player of the Year Award and Steve McNair, quarterback for Alcorn State received the Doug Williams Offensive Player of the Year Award for the second consecutive year. Vernon Grier from South Carolina State, received the SBN/Van Grack Scholar Athlete of the Year Award.

Coach Joe Taylor of Hampton University was honored with the SBN Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Award.



1131 So. Main Street 382-7528 382-5004 Mon. - Fri. 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Sat. 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

DEFENSE - (Standing I. to r.) Joseph Best, Fort Valley State; Colin Godfrey, Tennessee State; Sean Wallace, Southern; William Carroll, Florida A&M; Alonzo Barnett, North Carolina

(Sitting from I. to r.) Rodney Edwards, North Carolina A&T; Michael Strahan, Texas South-

ern; Damien Moses, South Carolina State; LeRoy Thompson, Delaware State; Everette McIver,