mega Psi Phi Fraternity, the first men's Greek-letter organization on a Black college campus and second fraternity-founder of NPHC, was established at Howard University in 1911. Today, the fraternity has more than 100,000 members in 620 chapters in the United States, Africa, the Orient, the Virgin islands, the Bahamas and West Germany. Dr. Moses Norman is the Grand Basileus.

Omega men who have served as president of NPHC are Attorney Matthew W. Bullock, the first president (1930-1933); and James T. Bailey (1972-1974).

Omega Psi Phi's purpose is to bring about a union of college men of similar high ideals of scholarship and manhood in order to stimulate the attainment of the ideals and ambitions of its members, to occupy a progressive helpful and constructive place in the political life of the community and nation; to foster the humanity, freedom and dignity of the individual; and to aid downtrodden humanity in its efforts to achieve higher economic and intellectual status.

Through the years, the Omegas have sponsored several national programs. Achievement Week is observed by all chapters with public programs, radio and television shows dealing with the achievement of mankind. The National High School Essay Contest is another prominent national program.

Current projects of Omega Psi Phi Fraternity include Endowed Chairs, support of professorships at Black colleges; Sustaining NAACP Membership Program, five-year effort to raise \$250,000 for the NAACP by 1985, followed by a repeat performance; National High School Essay Contest, scholarship prgram for essay winners; Famine Relief for Ethiopians, financial support for famine stricken Ethiopians; and the Assault On Illiteracy Program (AOIP), tutorial assistance in reading and writing skills.

The Rejuvenated Council

n 1983, Dr. Gilbert H. Francis, a Phi Beta Sigma from Trenton, New Jersey, was elected president of the National Pan-Hellenic Council. He prefaced the revised NPHC Handbook with the following

> The 1980's have been marked with an increased interest in fraternity and sorority life on college campuses, in communities around the country and beyond to foreign

shores. Recognizing the powerful impact that could be generated when our member organizations on the local levels come together as cohesive work units, the respective national Presidents have issued a call to implement the Pan-Hellenic organizational and programmatic thrusts. Thereby, every chapter of the national fraternities and sororities are requested to assure that local Pan-Hellenic councils are developed and then associated with the National Pan-Hellenic Council.

How far we go in improving the status of fraternity and sorority life within our member organizations and our impact upon improving the human condition rests solely upon how soon and how well we achieve unanimity. The National Pan-Hellenic Council represents the more than 1.5 million Greek-lettered men and women dedicated to service and the belief that "together we can make it happen."

The revitalized Executive Board, consisting of the national presidents and executive directors of the affiliate organizations, is the managing body of NPHC and has the responsibility for developing and implementing policies, programs and organizational plans of the council.

The members of the new Executive Board are:

Alpha Kappa Alpha Janet Ballard, President Barbara McKenzie, Exec. Director

Alpha Phi Alpha Charles Teamer, President James B. Blanton III, Exec. Director

Delta Sigma Theta Hortense G. Canady, President Mary B. Hendrick, Exec. Director

Zeta Phi Beta

Eunice Thomas, President

Linda Thompson, Exec. Director

Kappa Alpha Psi Randall Bacon, Grand Polemarch Algernon Moultrie, Exec. Director

Sigma Gamma Rho Dr. Rejesta Perry, Grand Basileus Bonita Herring, Exec. Secretary

Phi Beta Sigma
James Floyd, President
Gerald Smith, Exec. Director

Omega Psi Phi Dr. Moses C. Norman, Grand Basileus Dr. John J. Epps, Exec. Director The elected and appointed officers of NPHC are:

Dr. Ada J. Jackson, National President Alpha Kappa Alpha Nashville, Tennessee

James Carter Jr., 1st Vice President Kappa Alpha Psi Washington, D.C.

Kenneth Evans, 2nd Vice President Alpha Phi Alpha Norman, Oklahoma

Edda Pittman, Recording Secretary Zeta Phi Beta St. Louis, Missouri

Grace Phillips, Corresponding Secretary Zeta Phi Beta Washington, D.C.

Daisy Wood, Treasurer Delta Sigma Theta Houston, Texas

Graduate Members-at-Large:

William Davis Omega Psi Phi Norfolk, Virginia

Birta Allen Alpha Kappa Alpha Pontiac, Michigan

Undergraduate Members-at-Large:

Marshall Van Fulghum Omega Psi Phi Langston, Oklahoma Noreen Bentley Delta Sigma Theta Athens, Ohio

Valerie Bracey, Historian Sigma Gamma Rho Nashville, Tennessee

Janet Ballard, Parliamentarian Alpha Kappa Alpha Richmond, Virginia

Lecia Swain, Program Chairman Sigma Gamma Rho Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Dr. Shirle Childs, Sergeant-at-Arms Delta Sigma Theta East Orange, New Jersey

The Leadership of Ada Jackson

r. Ada Jean Work Jackson was elected the 26th president of NPHC at the 53rd national convention. She became a member of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority while a student at Tennessee State University from which she earned the B.S. degree in Elementary Education in 1959. She was awarded the Ph.D. degree in Educational Administration from Vanderbilt University in 1981.

Dr. Jackson was instrumental in helping to spearhead the establishment of the alumni Pan-Hellenic council in Nashville and

(Continued on page 14.)



National Leaders at AOIP meeting in Freeport, Bahamas, January 1986—Moses Norman, President, Omega Psi Phi; Faye Bryant, past President, Alpha Kappa Alpha; Houston Conley, Executive Assistant to the Superintendent, D.C. Public Schools; Helen Foster, educational consultant; Ullysses McBride, Vice President, Kappa Alpha Psi; Dr. Ada Jackson, President, National Pan-Hellenic Council; Dr. Shirle Childs, national officer, Delta Sigma Theta; Julia Shepherd, Adult Literacy Initiative, U.S. Department of Education; James Carter, Kappa Alpha Psi.