## Candidates on way to general election

Following is a list of offices to be voted on at the general election on

Congress - District 1: Harry Reid-D; Peggy Cavnar-R, Joe Morris-L. District 2: Andrew Barbano-D; Barbara Vucanovich-R, Dan Becan-L.

State Senate — District 2: Ray Shaffer-D; D.W. Ames-R. District 3: John Vergiels-D; Andrew Smoke-R, Randy Marchese-L. District 4: Joe Neal-D; Dave Phil-District 4: 5te Neal-D, Dave Fill-lips-D. District 5: Shelley Berkely-D; Ann O'Connell-R, Patrick O'Neill-L. District 6: Roger Bremner-D; Ray Rawson-R, Rich-ard Everson-L. District 7: James Bilbray-D, Gregory Millspaugh-R.

State Assembly — District 1: Steve McGinty-D, Jerry Fairchild-R. District 2: Jack Hon-D, John DuBois-R. District 3: Jane Wisdom-D, Chuck Horne-R. District 4: Mike Malone-R, A.W. Western Jr.-L. District 5: Arnie Adamsen-D; Bill O'Donnell-R. District 6: Gene Collins-D, P.A. Tobin-R. District 7: Morse Arberry-D, Marvin Dixon-R. District 8: Joseph M. Kadans-D, Barbara Zimmer-R. District 9: Bob Coffin-D, Ed Sajovic-R. District 10: Myrna Williams-D, Harold Miller-R.

District 13: Doug Jydstrup-D, James McGaughey-R. District 14: Thom Pilkinton-D, Art Rader-R. District 15: Marvin Sedway-D, George Stewart-R, David Boocher-L. District 16: Joyce Woodhouse-D, Jane Ham-R. District 17: Bob Price-D, Kathy Collins-R. District 18: Gary Lee Roberts-D, Dave Thompson-R. District 19: Patricia "Pat" Little-D, Rick Clark-R. District 20: Bob Craddock-D, Jack Regan-D. District 22: Jack Jeffrey-D, Rex Newell-R. District 41: Joe Behar-D, Steve Francis-R. District 42: Charles Perry-D, Terry Tebbs-

Unopposed: James Banner, Dis-Unopposed: James Banner, Dis- Unopposed trict 11; James Schofield, District Seat B.

District Court judge (nonpartisan) - Department 1: Charles Thompson, Joseph Bonaventure: Department 3: Joseph Pavli-kowski, Michael Amador; Department 4: Thomas O'Donnell, Eugenia Ohrenschall; Department 5: John Mendoza, Thomas Leen; Department 6: Howard Babcock, Steven Young; Department 10: Paul Goldman, Harland Hubbard.

Unopposed: Department 2, Brennan; Department Carl Christensen: Department 8, Michael Wendell; Department 9, Stephen Huffaker; Department 11, Dell Guy; Department 12, Myron E. Leavitt; Department 13, Thomas Foley; Department 14, Donald Mosley; Department 15, Miriam Shearing; Department 16, John McGroarty

Justice of the Peace - Las Vegas Department 3: Dan Ahlstrom, Gary Fannon. Las Vegas Department 4: James Bixler, Bill Rush.

University Board of Regents District B: Lilly Fong, Carolyn M. Sparks. District E: Joe Foley, Leslie Sardinas

State Board of Education District D: Lonnie Hammargren, Hal Smith. Unopposed: Warren F. Holmes, District A.

School District Board of Trust-District B: Howard Earl Hollingsworth, Gary Livingston. District C: Virginia Brewster, Louise Jordan. District E: Lucille Lusk, Brent Lovett. Unopposed: Shirley Holst, District A.

12; Danny Thompson, District 21. County Commission - District A: Neil Shannon-D, Bruce Woodbury-R. District B: Jay Bingham-D. Loren Broadbent-R. District C: Paul Christensen-D, Boh Chapman-R. District D: William Pearson-D, Jimmie Askin-R.

Supreme Court justice D: Cliff Young, Noel Manoukian. Unopposed — Thomas Steffen.

from page 14

HOLMES

Council championship in 1978. He successfully defended it 16 times, a mark second only to the great Joe Louis. Included in that string are victories over Ken Norton, Earnie Shavers, Weaver, Muhammad Ali and Gerry Cooney.

In Smith, Holmes faces a young man with devastating power. Ranked No. 9 by the WBA and No. 11 by the IBF, the 29-year-old Smith has knocked out his last 10 opponents en route to a record of 14-1 with 12 knockouts. His lone loss came in his pro debut in 1981. But he's improved immensely since then as evidenced in his last outing, a knockout win over previously undefeated Frank Bruno on May 13 in London.

Smith, born in Mag-

nolia, N.C., and a graduate of nearby Shaw University, didn't begin boxing until 1976 while he was in the Army. It was then during his



Mike Weaver

amateur career, in which he went 35-4, he earned the nickname "Bonecrusher."

At 6-foot-4 inches and approximately 230 pounds, he is one inch taller and about 10 pounds heavier than Holmes. Smith also has

a one-inch reach advantage on Holmes, 82 to

Weaver, the WBA heavyweight champion from March, 1980, to Dec. 1982, is coming off an impressive seventhround knockout of Billy Thomas on Aug. 31 at the Riviera. The 32-yearold Weaver, from Diamond Bar, Calif., has a record of 26-10-1 with 18 knockouts, including a knockout win over current WBA heavyweight champion Gerrie Coetzee. Weaver's currently ranked No. 1 by both the WBA and WBC. Anthony, from Detroit, has a record of 21-3.

Both Cobb and Berbick have fought Holmes for the WBC championship and gone the distance. The 29-year-old Cobb, from Orange, Texas, did it in 1982 and the 31-year-old Berbick, from Miami, Fla., did it in 1981



## **Municipal Court** Closed Friday

The Las Vegas City Municipal Court will close its doors to walk-in traffic Friday, Oct. 26, at 3 p.m. for minor remodeling.

It will reopen to the public at 7 a.m. Monday, Oct. 29, according to Chief Judge Seymour Brown.

Bailouts and normal office operations will continue during the remodeling hours on Friday and those who have scheduled court appearances will be admitted.

MONEY MAKER FOR MEMBERS OF THE **BLACK COMMUNITY** 

NON-PROFIT ORGANIZATION NO MONEY REQUIRED

> RICHARDSON 727-4350 PAHRUMP