PRESENTATION OF NAACP AWARDS HIGHLIGHT OF FREEDOM BANQUET



Mrs. Stella Fears, widow of the late Ira H. Fears presents the "Ira H. Fears Memorial Award to Jimmy Gay III.

Recipients of the 1968 NAACP Awards (locally) are Dr. Bert Babero, Parasitologist, who is presently teaching courses in Anthropology, Zoology, and Parasitology at Nevada Southern University. As Chairman of the Solutions Conference, parent body of the several sub-committees engaged in finding meaningful resolutions of problems faced by minority groups in Clark County, Dr. Babero has earned merited recognition for his commitment to the community. He was named "Man of the Year". ...Mrs. Sarann Knight, business woman and NAACP Membership Chairman was honored as "Woman of the Year"...Lee White, a Las Vegan who vaulted into national prominence as an All-American full-back at Weber State College in Utah last year, was presented the "Special Achievement Award" for a male... Miss Michelle Freeman, an American Air Lines Stew-ardess, won the "Special Achievement Award" for a woman...Bob Bailey, former Chairman of Nevada's State Equal Rights Commission was recipient of the "Meritorious Service Award"...Jo Mackey Elementary School was winner of the "Education Award"...H. P. Fitzgerald, Jo Mackey Principal, received a Certificate of Appreciation...Attorney Charles Kellar, President of the Las Vegas branch of the NAACP was given the "Legal Achievements Award"...James Gay III was singled out for the Association's highest honor, the "Ira H. Fears Memorial Award'. It is a fitting tribute to the late Mr. Fears who, with his devoted wife, Stella, have given unstinting service to the local NAACP -- service unmatched in the history of the organization.



"Special Achievement Award" for a woman is cited by Kit Carson School teacher, Mrs. Barbara Kirkland (right) to Michelle Freeman, recipient of the award.



It was a real pleasure for local school teacher, Henry Moore (left) to make presentation of "Special Achievement Award" for a man to former Las Vegas student, Lee White. Equally delighted gentleman in background is William Wynne, Equal Rights Commission Executive Secretary, who served as Chairman of the Awards Committee.



Judge John Mendoza does the honors as Bob Bailey receives "Meritorious Service Award"



Kenneth R. Seifert, Administrative Assistant of the Clark County School District, presents "Woman of the Year" award to Mrs. Sarann Knight.



NSU Chancellor Donald Moyer exhibits understandable pride and pleasure in presenting "Man of the Year" award to Dr. Bert Babero, a member of NSU faculty.